IGNOU Projects

IGNOU Project Word Limit and Page Count: What the Official Sources Actually Specify

IGNOU project word limit and page count explained from the Common Prospectus July 2026

Report length, verified against the primary source

IGNOU Project Word Limit and Page Count: What the Official Sources Actually Specify

The Common Prospectus for July 2026 prints a project word count for exactly one programme out of roughly sixty-eight project courses. Here is that one figure, why every other programme is silent, and where the rule for your own code is actually written.

The short answer

IGNOU does not publish one word limit that applies to every project. In the Common Prospectus for July 2026, a project length is stated for a single programme: MA Public Administration, where section 3.22 says learners who opt for Project Work are to write a dissertation of 10000 to 15000 words. No other programme entry in that document carries a word count or a page count. The Prospectus explains why in section 1.11(e): for project work, a comprehensive project guide in the form of a booklet is supplied to the learner along with the study material. That booklet, not the Prospectus, is where your own limit is written. What the Prospectus does publish for every project course is its credit value, and those run from 4 credits to 16 credits, which is why a single universal figure cannot be correct.

The one word count IGNOU publishes centrally

Search the Common Prospectus for July 2026 for any statement of project length and you get exactly one result. It sits in the MA Public Administration entry, immediately under the programme table that lists MPAP 2 Project Work at 8 credits.

“Learners who opt for Project Work are to write dissertation of 10000-15000 words. This course is recommended for those who are interested in pursuing further studies in Public Administration.”

IGNOU Common Prospectus, July 2026, section 3.22, Master of Arts (Public Administration)

Two things are worth pulling out of that sentence. The first is that the range is wide, 5000 words wide, which tells you IGNOU treats project length as a band and not a target. The second is that MPAP 2 is an 8 credit course, so this is the only anchor point the university offers publicly for what 8 credits of project work is expected to look like on paper. Students on other 8 credit project courses often assume a much shorter report, and there is no published basis for that assumption either way.

Why almost every other programme is silent

The absence of word counts elsewhere in the Prospectus is not an oversight. The document states its own scope for project rules in the section on student support:

“For project work, comprehensive project guide, in the form of a booklet, is provided to the learner along with the study material.”

IGNOU Common Prospectus, July 2026, section 1.11(e)

In other words, the Prospectus deliberately hands the detail to each programme. Length, chapter structure, margins, binding and annexures live in the programme project guide booklet, which arrives with the study material for the project course. This single design decision is the reason the question is answered so inconsistently everywhere else. Writers looking for a central rule do not find one, so they publish a plausible number instead, and those numbers then circulate as though they were official.

Practical consequence. If a website gives you a word count for your project and does not name the programme guide, the section or the page it came from, treat it as an estimate. That includes numbers that sound precise. A figure such as fifty to sixty pages is repeated across dozens of sites for several different course codes, which is itself a clue that it is being copied rather than sourced.

What the Prospectus does specify: credits

Every project course in the Prospectus carries a credit value, and that is the one universal, published, comparable number available. Counting the project and dissertation entries across the July 2026 edition gives the following spread.

Credit valueRoughly how many project coursesExamples of course codes
4 credits20MECP 301, MPYP 1, MZOP 001, MTHP 044, MSWP 134, PES 1, BGPP 1
6 credits12MCOP 001, MESP 49, MEVP 012, MJMP 120, BPCE 144, BANE 154, MRDP 205
8 credits27MPAP 2, MANP 101, MDEP 520, MEVP 11, MWGP 101, DECE 4, DNHE 4, MTTMP 119, MHUP 014
10 credits1MESP 1
12 credits6MRDP 1, MDVP 117, MCSP 079, MSLP 017, MFLP 011
16 credits2MVPP 002, MTTP 22

The lightest project course in the university carries 4 credits. The heaviest carries 16. That is a fourfold difference in prescribed workload between two things both called a project. Any word count offered as applying to IGNOU projects generally is therefore describing, at best, one band of that range and quietly ignoring the rest.

Project course credits in the Common Prospectus, July 2026 4 credits, about 20 courses 6 credits, about 12 courses 8 credits, about 27 courses 10 and 12 credits, about 7 courses 16 credits, 2 courses Bar width shows the number of courses in each credit band. Project credits, July 2026 4 credits, about 20 courses 6 credits, about 12 courses 8 credits, about 27 courses 10 and 12 credits, about 7 16 credits, 2 courses Bar width shows courses per band.
Credit values are published for every project course. Word counts are not.

Where your own limit is actually written

There is a reliable order in which to look, and it takes about ten minutes.

  • Your programme project guide booklet. This is the document the Prospectus points to. It arrives with the study material for the project course and normally carries the report structure, the expected length, the annexure list and the submission address in one place.
  • eGyanKosh. Where a project guide has been digitised, it sits in the same collection as the rest of the programme material and can be read without waiting for a posted copy.
  • Your Regional Centre. If the booklet is silent or you cannot locate it, the Regional Centre is the office that will actually receive and forward your report, and its answer is the one that governs your submission.
  • Your approved guide. A supervisor who has passed projects on your course before will know the practical range the evaluators accept, which is useful context even though it is not a published rule.

Once you have the number, the rest of the report shape is easier to fix, and the IGNOU project guidelines page covers the chapter order and formatting conventions that sit around it. If you are still at the proposal stage, the length that matters first is the synopsis rather than the report, and that is handled separately in the IGNOU synopsis and proposal format guidance.

Credits are the closest thing to a proxy, and here is how to use one honestly

Because the Prospectus publishes credits universally and length almost never, credits are the only defensible way to reason about scale when your booklet is not to hand. IGNOU describes an 8 credit project such as MMPP 001 as equivalent to two courses in workload, and that framing is useful: a project is being measured against taught courses, not against a page target.

Used carefully, that gives you a sanity check rather than an answer. A 4 credit project is half the prescribed workload of an 8 credit one, and an 8 credit project is half of a 16 credit one. If you have been told that a 4 credit project and a 12 credit project should both run to the same length, one of those two instructions is wrong. You can look up your own course code and its credit value on the IGNOU project course codes and credits directory before you plan the chapter split.

What this page will not do. It will not invent a word count for programmes where IGNOU has not published one. Several widely repeated figures exist for the MBA, M.Com, MA Education and MSW projects, and they disagree with each other by thousands of words. None of the sources carrying them cite a section of an official guide. Rather than pick one and present it as a rule, this page states that the figure is not specified in the Prospectus and directs you to the document that does carry it.

If your guide gives you a different number

Follow the guide and the Regional Centre, in that order, and keep the instruction in writing. The evaluator works to the programme’s own guide, not to a general figure. Two practical points from work with students on this: a report that comes in materially under the expected band tends to attract questions about the depth of the analysis rather than an outright rejection, and a report that runs well over is more often asked to trim the annexures than the chapters. Where a range is given, the middle of the range is the safer place to land than either edge.

One thing that is worth checking before you write rather than after: whether your programme counts annexures, questionnaires and references inside the stated length or outside it. Where a booklet gives a figure, it usually says which parts are excluded, and that exclusion can move the real writing target by several thousand words. If the booklet does not say, ask the Regional Centre and keep the reply with your project submission paperwork.

Frequently asked questions

Is there one word limit for all IGNOU projects?

No. The Common Prospectus for July 2026 states a project word count for one programme only, MA Public Administration, at 10000 to 15000 words for MPAP 2. Every other project course entry gives a code, a title and a credit value with no length. Project courses in that document range from 4 credits to 16 credits, so a single figure could not apply across them.

Where does IGNOU publish the word limit for my programme?

In the programme project guide booklet. The Prospectus states in section 1.11(e) that for project work a comprehensive project guide, in the form of a booklet, is provided to the learner along with the study material. Where that booklet has been digitised it can also be read on eGyanKosh. If it is silent, the Regional Centre is the authority for your submission.

What is the word limit for the IGNOU MBA project, MMPP 001?

It is not specified in the Common Prospectus for July 2026. The Prospectus refers to MMPP 001 only as one project course equivalent to two courses. Figures circulating online for this code vary by several thousand words and none of them cite an official section, so the MMPP 001 project guidelines supplied with the study material are the document to check.

How many pages should an IGNOU project report be?

The Prospectus does not state a page count for any programme, including the one programme for which it gives a word count. Page count also depends on spacing, font and margins, which is why programme guides that do specify length usually give it in words or in double spaced typed pages rather than pages alone.

Does the word limit include annexures and references?

This is decided by the programme project guide, and it matters. Where a booklet states a length it usually also names what is excluded, commonly the annexures, questionnaires and bibliography. If your booklet does not say, confirm it with your Regional Centre before you start writing and keep the reply.

Can more credits be taken to mean a longer report?

Only as a rough sanity check, not as a rule. Credits are the workload measure the Prospectus publishes for every project course, and IGNOU describes an 8 credit project as equivalent to two courses. That tells you a 4 credit project is not expected to match a 12 credit one, but it does not convert into a word figure, and no official source performs that conversion.

Unsure which figure applies to your course code, or cannot locate your project guide booklet? Send your programme and enrolment number and the current requirement will be confirmed against the official guide for your session.

Ask on WhatsApp

Sourced from the IGNOU Common Prospectus, July 2026, sections 1.11(e), 3.22 and the programme structure tables. Credit counts are taken from the project and dissertation rows of those tables. Where a length is not published, this page records it as not specified rather than estimating.

Guidance only. Always confirm the final requirement with your programme project guide and your Regional Centre before submission. Shri Chakradhar Publication Pvt. Ltd. and ignouproject.com are independent third-party study-help services and are not the official IGNOU website.

BK Sahni, Founder of Shri Chakradhar Publication and ignouproject.com
Written & Reviewed By

BK Sahni iD 0009-0005-8092-459X

Founder, Shri Chakradhar Publication Pvt. Ltd. & ignouproject.com — helping IGNOU distance-learning students since 2010 (5,00,000+ students supported across MBA, MCom, MA & more). Author of IGNOU exam guides, solved assignments & project reference books.

Editorial method: Content is cross-checked against official IGNOU and Samarth notifications and the latest assignment, exam, and project guidelines on ignou.ac.in before each update. Refreshed before every June & December TEE cycle. Published research: author of open-access IGNOU project methodology guides on Zenodo (CERN), indexed with permanent DOIs.

Disclosure: Shri Chakradhar Publication Pvt. Ltd. and ignouproject.com are independent third-party study-help services — not the official IGNOU website. Always verify final dates and rules on ignou.ac.in.

BK Sahni, Founder of Shri Chakradhar Publication and ignouproject.com

Author

BK Sahni

BK Sahni (Bhavya Kumar Sahni) is the Founder of Shri Chakradhar Publication Pvt. Ltd. (CIN: U22213DL2019PTC352185) and ignouproject.com — India's most trusted independent IGNOU study-help publisher. Since 2010, BK Sahni has personally guided 5,00,000+ IGNOU distance-learning students across all programmes including MBA, MCOM, MEG, MHD, MPS, BAG and more — through project reports, solved assignments, guess papers, help books and TEE preparation. Academic author: ORCID 0009-0005-8092-459X. Learn more at bksahni.com

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

IGNOU Saathi

AI Assistant for every IGNOU student

📝 Assignment 📅 Submission 🔬 Practical 📄 Question Papers 📋 Date Sheet ✍ Exam Form 🎫 Hall Ticket 📊 Result 🎓 Grade Card 🔄 Revaluation 📚 Study Notes 📄 Project 📝 Synopsis 🔁 Re-registration 🎓 Admission 🔍 Admission Status 💳 Fee Payment 📄 ID Card 🎓 Certificate 🎓 Convocation 💻 Portal Issue
🎓
Ask any IGNOU question
in Hindi or English — it's free
🔓
Free limit reached!
You have used all 5 free questions. Get unlimited access for just Rs.29/month.
Rs.29/month
Get Premium Now
— Already paid? Unlock below —